Skip to main content

Cheap Thrills

Tomorrow a professional photographer comes to the house to take pictures and video for the virtual tour.  I should be cleaning the house for this event, but I am blogging instead.  I think I finally got the ribbon just right.  I noticed that they were not even therefore the writing was off centered.  Mark's attitude was leave it alone.  I added a flower too.  I'm not sure if I like it, but I am moving on to Valentines Day background.  I might need another hard drive for all the free downloads.  

I am going to back track a bit...

Saturday night the girls stayed with Mark's mom overnight and Mark had band for most of the evening.  I decided this was a great time to get a little one on one with Nathan.  He is fun to be around right now.  It is hard to get alone time with him when there are five of us. Since it was just the two of us I let him pick where we were going to eat out for dinner. He picked McDonalds, what two and a half year old wouldn't?    

He got a cheeseburger Happy Meal that took him over 30 minutes to eat.  It took him so long I actually looked at the time on the receipt to see how long we had been there.  It doesn't help when a motorcycle cop pulls up and parks right in front of the window where we were sitting.  Dinner and a show!  All I heard was mama look at his boots, mama look at his helmet, mama why he have a helmet, mama what he doing, mama look! I cherish these times. So cute! 

We drove Mark's truck so that was fun for him too. We went to the dollar store. What I refer to as cheap thrills. He picked bubbles and I got a couple of night lights.  Hey big spender. (did any of you sing that?) I love when Mark plays that on the piano. Anyway,  I also picked up packing tape. Optimistically I hope to be packing sooner than later. We have boxes but are running low on tape.  

I had a great night out with Nathan.  His is going to be three this year!  THREE, how can that be?  He is not a baby anymore.  He is a little boy.  Mark is even making him a twin bed.  Gone are the days of the crib.  For the first time in over 6 years the crib will be taken apart. Bitter sweet.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Insecurity

I am reading a book by Beth Moore called So Long Insecurity you've been a bad friend to us. I was asked by a friend to do a book club kinda thing. I agreed just to feel included so many miles away (insecurity?). I am lonely of being in Alabama without my girlfriends and agreed to read this book. I have to say I didn't think I had issues with insecurity at the time I bought this book. I am a pretty secure woman, but as I continue to read I see where we all have some issues with insecurity. For anyone that knows Beth Moore you know she is a no nonsense Christian and is very challenging. I appreciate her openness and honesty. I am really enjoying the book. Mostly because I have two girls that will be women one day. Don't we all want our daughters to be secure? Of course we do. I think Beth Moore has hit the nail on the head! My challenge to all my girl friends is to not worry about what other think and buy a book that is about insecurity and read it! If not for yo...

Happy New Year!

Happy Anniversary to my parents that got married today many moons ago. Congratulations for over 30 years of marital bliss.   Updates... I know why you should have a realtor.  Too many emotions.  The people that looked out our house put it in their top 3 choices and today they go back to their other 2 choices.  We will see what happens.  I feel a low offer coming our way, if we get an offer at all.     Do you know how much work it is to keep a house walk thru ready?  I feel like we worked all day to get out for an hour and then we came home and trashed the place.     Tomungus, Nathan's new word.  What it means I'm not quite sure, but he thinks it is funny.  He says humongous and ginormous a lot so I think he just said one wrong.   The veggie garden is growing wild. We have tiny tomatoes, squash, zucchini and broccoli. I kinda hope we can get some veggie before we move.  If not I will have to start another garden the kids love it and it keeps them busy watering it.  Playing in  w...

Queen of Google

Day in and day out I am frustrated with myself because I didn't take the time to write.  I want to write but I find myself not writing anything but thinking about writing.  I love to read and make time for reading but I find myself often just thinking about writing and not actually writing.   I am not sure what will ever motivate me to write daily.  Being a mom to three tween/teens in a huge job.  Especially when one is being homeschooled this year.  I find myself saying things like, when the dishes are done or when the laundry is done then I will write.  Just let me check all this school work first and then I will write.  When it is quiet, I will write.  This could be why I never write.  It is never quiet in this house.   Today I have had enough.  I am not about new year resolutions but I am going to make the commitment today to write daily.  I ideally would like to write not just for the blog but novel writing. ...